My experiences in Finland!

By November 26, 2017Muistola

My name is Gul Dogan. I was born in Kahramanmaras. I am 22 years old and I am from Turkey. I am a student at Necmettin Erbakan University. My major degree is Molecular Biology and Genetics. Currently I live in Turku. I want to tell about my experiences in Finland.

When I came to Finland my mentor, Hissu Kytö, came to pick me up from Helsinki Vantaa airport. Then we travelled to Turku where I am staying during this year. She was very kind and helpful. She knows Turkish language and it was an easy start for me. Originally she is from Turkey and have lived in Finland for 46 years. When I arrived to Turku they showed me my new flat. My home is in the heart of the city and that’s great. I have a Finnish roommate.

DaisyLadies has two different places. I will work every second week in both places. My working hours are between 09:00 am – 03:00 pm. My work tasks are gymnastic coordinator, making food, presentations in general, event coordinator, teaching Turkish language, studying Finnish language, English speaking course-coordinator. I am also writing things about my life and experiences in Finland for this DaisyLadies blog.

DaisyLadies timetable involves gym and Finnish lessons and things about Finnish society. Then they have lunch and do handworks or other activities. They send handworks for persons who need them in other countries.

For me it has been precious to learn a lots of things about different cultures. I have been learning things about life in Finland and especially in Turku. I have met a lot of people from different countries.

I also been visiting other cities in Finland for example Helsinki and Tampere. As far as I am concerned I like Turku except the weather. Weather has been challenging. Briefly I don’t regret that I am participating Erasmus+ volunteer project and I came to Turku and I am doing a volunteer work in DaisyLadies.

Best regards
Gul Dogan